Tied into a life of adventure.

Weekdays in the Valley: Building skills

Cathedral Rocks in clearing spring storm, Yosemite Valley, CA.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been dividing my time between working in the City and climbing and shooting in Yosemite Valley.  I seem to have found the perfect setup.  I work at the Monks Kettle in San Francisco for three days, then have 4 days off a week, typically during the weekdays.  With my time, I’ve ended up throwing myself all into my climbing and photography, rehearsing old climbs and learning new rigging techniques so that I can fix a line and rappel into a climb and shoot, without having to worry about the climber’s safety or belay. Not only am I now getting better angles, but the added focus on rigging systems has made me a more confident climber.

The excitement of learning new techniques and building my skills is addictive.  I couldn’t be more satisfied to wake up every morning and hone my craft with the focus given to a career.  And that’s the goal: making adventure photography my career.

Here are some shots from around the Valley over the past three weeks.

Dan works offwidth climb, the Gauntlet, 11c.

 

Dan jams his way up pitch 1 of Postively 4th Street.

Kristin places gear on Church Bowl Tree, 10a

 

Kristin cranks through a fingerstack on Church Bowl Tree, 10a

Clearing storm, Yosemite Valley, CA.

 

Leave a Reply

