Tied into a life of adventure.

Here’s to going for it: attempting the Supercanaleta on Fitz Roy

Well, here goes. After days of rain/snow and high winds, Pep, Marta, Willy and I are going to head up tomorrow to check out the Supercanaleta on the west face of Fitz Roy. Never in my life did I imagine to be going for Fitz before even making an attempt at the Nose on El Cap. But here I am, as ready as I’ll ever be to put all of my successes, failures and the lessons learned from both together to give this the best shot possible.

The route we are going for involves about 1000-1200 meters of climbing a couloir (ice as snow gully) until we reach it’s head and begin climbing on rock, snow and ice for another 1000 meters. Unfortunately, we will need to pass by a fallen climber that is still in the route and who was great friends with Pep. I don’t know how I’ll react to this if/when we arrive to this point.

Beyond here, the climbing is 5.6-5.9 with one or two sections of 5.10a and it is long. We will bivy for the night around pitches 12 or 18. The route is actually quite moderate, but alpine and you never know what kind of weather the southern Patagonian icecap and south sea will throw at you. From the summit, we will rappel a dozen or so times to Paso Superior and then walk back to town for a giant asado and later next week, a long-awaited reunion with my girlfriend, Jen, who I haven’t seen in months.

Here’s to going for it. At the least, I learn about alpine mountaineering, myself and set new goals for the future. At the most, I attain the above, plus a summit and other learn new lessons that I cannot yet conceive.

One response

  1. Good luck to you Steve! Sending you good weather thoughts!

    March 10, 2011 at 10:31 PM

Leave a Reply

