Tied into a life of adventure.

Cordon del Plata: Day 5

Day 5:

“All is well today.  The pull to this camp, el Salto superior, was hard, but I felt strong and better than I had anticipated after our training hike here a few days back.  What is notable is the weather.  We are completely socked in with clouds and occasional flurries, but no precip of consecuence.  There is a lot of poopy toilet paper up here which I have done my best to burn off.  This is becoming my mission.  Oddly enough, I think I’m in or in the next campsite over from where I spent my miserable days of altitude sickness in 2005.

Occasionally we hear rockfall in the distance coming from nearby Cerros Vallecitos and Rincon, both of which have big, dirty glaciers on their south faces. I can’t wait to get up on them, but it all depends how this weather turns out.  Right now I hear snow outside of my tent and the view looks like the inside of a milk jug.

This tent may have a curse.  Today Chris accidentally had a pole snap on him while he was helping me set up.  The pole was not  a really essential one, but one worth having.  I should get by.  I’ll need to call Black Diamond when I get back to Mendoza and ask them for a replacement.  We were doing nothing out of the ordinary, so I would appreciate a replacement.  When you spend $500 for an expedition quality tent for a three month expedition, shouldn’t it be strong enough not to break on day five?

That’s all for now.  I’m happy to be high ad now we are focused solely on getting to the summits of these kickass mountains.  Raaaaaah!

Today after taking a nap, Ryan and I took a walk up the trail towards la Hollada. Wow.  Glaciers, high peaks and the weather broke.  The clouds hung low as we walked beneath the peaks and we were able to get some amazing views.   Mendoza and the lowlands glimmered below us in a mix of pink clouds and fading afternoon sun.  Quite the afternoon.  We all feel excellent with the altitude and will push up another thousand feet tomorrow to the highest camp, la Hollada. From there we´ll either hang out for a day or go for  Vallecitos, then Cerro Plata on our last day.

I can’t wait.  I might actually get to bag these peaks that seemed so impossible years ago.  I hope our good fortune continues.”

The weather breaks briefly and low clouds skirt the base and glaciers of Cerro Rincon.

Clouds and low light illuminate the valley below our camp at Salto Superior.

Light breaks through the clouds above the Vallecitos/Plata col.

Leave a Reply

