Tied into a life of adventure.

Priorities: time to sort them out at the crag.

It’s been nice being back in Mendoza cleaning clothes, enjoying summer and sleeping in over the past few days.  I even got the chance to reconnect with a friend I hadn’t seen since 2005!

Along with the relaxation, came the more mundane tasks of cleaning, paying bills and the like.  This is when a major question arose:

Climbing Aconcagua is very expensive and will put me very over budget for this trip.  I can’t afford it.  Should I go for it?   Or should I redirect my energy to heading down to Patagonia solo, climb free mountains, dedicate more time to exploring new places and hope to come back in the next few years with more financial resources?  The list of pros and cons are endless.  There’s a sour economy, unemployment when I return to the States… But then again, when will I be so close, in great shape and have a great team to take something I’ve wanted to do for so long?

It’s time to do some thinking over the next few days.

This weekend the crew is renting a car and heading out to Arenales, a local climbing area in Mendoza that has both trad and sport routes.  The place is known for its high quality granite and cracks, my favorite!  I can’t help but think about comparisons with Yosemite Valley.  We’re going to car camp, climb during the days and relax at night.  A weekend of cragging in a new place seems perfect to think about the choices ahead and what steps to take next.

3 responses

  1. Paul D

    go for it

    January 26, 2011 at 6:37 PM

  2. Steve, I think you should go for it too. But then if your heart is telling you not to go, you absolutely have to listen to that. This has been one of your goals for a long time, and here you are, with this mountain right in front of you. If somehow your goal has changed, that is okay too–you really do have to listen to your heart. But if the only reason holding you back is the money, you should go for it, and perhaps pick up a side job when you are down off the mountain. Money comes and goes, but an experience like this is not something that you can put a value on. You can always get money–it is very fluid like that. When else in your life will you be with this same team in this same place? But with that said, I want you to do what is best for you, whatever that means.

    Best of luck with this tough decision! And hugs from Nashville!

    January 26, 2011 at 9:39 PM

    • Patrick Schneble

      Bro! Go for it. I will donate $75.00 to the cause. Every one else reading this get on board! How can we get funds to you? All you desk jockeys can live Vicariously through Steve! DO IT! YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE. IT IS ONLY MONEY! Steve email me I am serious!

      January 27, 2011 at 9:40 AM

Leave a Reply

