Tied into a life of adventure.

Aconcagua and Patagonia: 2011’s the year

After years of dreaming and months of serious thought and consideration, I’ve made final plans to return to South America for a few months.  On January 13, I’ll hop a flight to Santiago, meet up with some friends and then head over the Andes to Argentine wine country, Mendoza.  We’ll hang out for a weekend, then go into the Cordon del Plata to climb and train at high altitude.  After a week of training, the group will come back down to Mendoza, gather permits and prep for climbing Aconcagua. When all is set, we’ll venture back into the high Andes where we hope to reach the summit of America in 12 days.

After Aconcagua, it’s likely that the group will dissolve as it heads southward to Patagonia, then meet up at random times to enjoy the “fin del mundo”.  I’ll venture south via bus, stopping where ever I see a peak that looks worth climbing.  Ultimately, I’d like to end back up in El Chalten, a small town at the foot of Cerro Torre and Fitz Roy.  Cerro Torre and Fitz Roy are out of my league, but I aim to ski up to them and behind them on the Southern Patagonian Icecap.  Who knows if I’ll have a partner or not?  Maybe I’ll meet someone along the way with the same interest?

As I’ve spoken with friends and family about this trip, they’ve asked, “what’s the purpose?”  Is this a charity climb?  Am I looking for anything?  Why am I doing this?  There is an easy answer:

Adventure.

I’ve been dreaming of climbing Aconcagua for years, skiing the Ice Cap and exploring Patagonia on my own time.  I don’t know what awaits when I embark and climb, let alone when I return home.  Who knows whether or not I’ll have job when I return.

It’s worth it though.  Sometimes life calls and you have to answer, who knows what the message will be, if any.

So here’s to it.  The adventure starts now.  The planning, training, anticipating, and executing.  I’ve bought my flights, a new professional lens for my camera and am now mapping out the Aconcaguan portion of the trip.  Much more to come…

2 responses

  1. Jennifer

    Congratulations! Sounds great. South America’s been calling my name for a while. I can’t wait to hear about your adventures!

    November 3, 2010 at 10:44 AM

  2. Thanks so much, Jennifer! I can’t wait to get down there, but the fun has already begun. I’ll keep this thing as up to date as possible. Let me know if you’re going to head down any time between January and March.

    November 3, 2010 at 5:47 PM

Leave a Reply

